Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT)

Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism logo
display image

2017 Plenary & IAG Meeting - Tokyo, Japan

2017 Plenary Meeting 2017 Plenary Meeting 2017 Plenary Meeting 2017 Plenary Meeting

Over 200 participants from 74 partner nations and four official international observer organizations of the Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT) gathered in Tokyo, Japan, June 1-2, 2017, for the initiative’s 10th high-level Plenary Meeting.

The Plenary welcomed Paraguay and Nigeria as new partners, raising the number of partner nations to 88. Finland was endorsed by consensus as Implementation and Assessment Group (IAG) Coordinator for the term 2017-2019 and Morocco for the term 2019-2021. The Plenary provided a valuable forum for dialogue on important policy challenges identified through the successful implementation of GICNT activities since its last Plenary Meeting in 2015 in Helsinki, Finland, and it recognized the leadership of countries and official observers that hosted and organized these activities. In addition, partner nations reviewed key outcomes from the June 15-16, 2016, 10th Anniversary Meeting, held in The Hague, the Netherlands, and agreed to plans for work in 2017-2019 that will address enduring priorities of the GICNT’s Nuclear Detection, Nuclear Forensics, and Response and Mitigation Working Groups as well as cross-disciplinary issues related to sustainability, radioactive source security, and legal frameworks.

The Plenary Meeting also provided a forum for partner nations to deliver national statements and provide recommendations that will inform the direction and activities of the Initiative for the next two years leading up to the next Plenary Meeting, which will be hosted by Argentina in 2019.

Co-Chair Statement ►

Keynote Address ►

National and International Organization Statements

  1. Armenia ►
  2. Australia ►
  3. Belgium ►
  4. Bosnia & Herzegovina ►
  5. Cambodia ►
  6. China ►
  1. Croatia ►
  2. European Union ►
  3. France ►
  4. Georgia ►
  5. Hungary ►
  6. Italy ►
  1. Lithuania ►
  2. Madagascar ►
  3. New Zealand ►
  4. Pakistan ►
  5. Romania ►
  6. Serbia ►
  1. Slovakia ►
  2. Sweden ►
  3. Switzerland ►
  4. United Kingdom ►
  5. United States ►
  6. UNODC ►

◄ Return to Official Statements